Skip to content

Kiefer and Sebald

Kiefer BuchAnselm Kiefer, Buch (The Secret Life of Plants) mixed media on lead

Tim Hill has written a nice article in the New Statesman that references similarities between W.G. Sebald and the painter Anselm Kiefer.  Recommended reading.

2 Comments Post a comment
  1. P.T. Smith #

    I don’t know how I haven’t thought of this connection at all, but it brings me a bit of a thrill to start thinking about it. The art world is mostly a mystery to me, but when I encountered Kiefer I was stunned. It’s one of my strongest memories of visiting San Francisco (the Modern Art Museum had a feature on him).

    October 12, 2009
    • Janie Nelson #

      I appreciate your comments–Kiefer is my favorite contemporary artist. He possesses the uncanny ability to covey to the viewer the emotion behind his works by drawing us into his world. He is brilliant.

      February 8, 2012

Leave a Reply

