Skip to content

Reading Your Face Tomorrow

I normally don’t get too near book discussion groups or any other organized literary activities, but I’ve found myself lurking over at Conversational Reading where Scott is coordinating the conversation as everyone reads the three volumes of Javier Marias’ Your Face Tomorrow.  For reasons that escape me, I’ve avoided Marias until now, despite the urging of friends and readers of Vertigo who kept reminding me that not only were Javier Marias and W.G. Sebald acquainted, but Marias uses photographs in some of his novels.  I’m afraid I’m behind in my reading of the first volume Your Face Tomorrow: Fever and Spear, but my enjoyment of the book is being abetted by the intelligent comments from other readers.  A few days ago, Scott pulled in Marias’ translator Margaret Jull Costa for a fascinating question and answer session about translating Marias’ books, Marias as a translator, his reputation in Spain, and other topics.

The seventeen week reading of all three volumes runs through July 17.

3 Comments Post a comment
  1. martin #

    That’s all really interesting Terry – some nice discussions on Bernhard too there!

    I think I mentioned to you the interview with Marias that the Guardian did last year – here’s the link for everyone’s benefit:

    http://www.guardian.co.uk/books/video/2009/dec/15/javier-marias-your-face-tomorrow

    April 23, 2010
  2. Thanks, Martin. Sometime I will do a post about Your Face Tomorrow and Marias’ use of photographs. But I’ve a lot of reading to do first!

    April 23, 2010

Leave a Reply

