Skip to content

Medical Leave

Hospital Room

I was taken to hospital in Norwich in a state of almost total immobility.

W.G. Sebald. The Rings of Saturn.

A little more than a week ago, I suddenly found myself unable to stand or walk without immense pain. Somehow I managed to hobble to the car for the ride to the emergency room, where the triage began. “Have you been out of the country recently? Have you…?” Within a few minutes a sonogram and its operator appeared and she began scanning. The operator and the doctor hovered and pointed. “Gall stones,” one of them declared. Five days later I came home with no gall bladder, but four sore incisions from the laparoscopic procedure. All this is to say that I am taking a bit of medical leave from Vertigo – probably just another week or so. I am returning to normal health pretty well, but it’s mysteriously exhausting at times – and I’m craving pure entertainment at the moment. I’m reading Ann Cleeves’ Shetland Island quartet of mysteries – apparently in reverse order. I’ve got to get well by early June, because I have a ticket to see Argentina play Jamaica in the Copa America in Chicago. Lionel Messi!

My hospital window, I am happy to report, was much larger than the one Sebald’s shows us in The Rings of Saturn, but the view was no better.

Sebald's Hospital Window_0001

 

12 Comments Post a comment
  1. Wishing you a speedy and full recovery, Meantime, enjoy Shetland. Interesting how soothing murder can be…

    May 28, 2016
  2. Wishing you a speedy recovery. Allow yourself to relax into whatever reading or entertainment soothes you. Looking back over the past year, the first month after my cardiac arrest was possibly the most productive reading month I had, perhaps because I could not do anything else but prop myself, very carefully, on the sofa, and read. No room for guilt! Godspeed.

    May 28, 2016
  3. Thanks all! Yes, murder mysteries are definitely part of the cure.

    May 28, 2016
  4. I heard that gallstones can be immensely painful. I wish you a good recovery!

    May 28, 2016
  5. anette #

    wishing you a full and rapid recovery,
    warm wishes,
    anette

    May 28, 2016
  6. Hope your hospital stay is bearable & that the fact you are managing to get any reading done is a sign that you are getting some peace and quiet (I know how noisy hospital wards can get…). Hope you get back on your feet (&your footnotes) soon!

    e.

    May 28, 2016
  7. Get well soon! Karsten

    May 29, 2016
  8. alan #

    Hope you heel quickly. Been reading for years!

    May 29, 2016
  9. Rhys Tranter #

    This is taking the Sebald obsession a step too far! Hope you are feeling better soon, Terry!

    May 31, 2016
  10. Caille Millner #

    Feel better soon, Terry!

    May 31, 2016
  11. Tomasz Popielicki #

    I am submitting the best regards and the best wishes of return to your perfect health and form – from Warsaw in Poland.
    Can’t think of a week without at least just looking what’s there on your website! And I think you need a consultant on how to treat yourself a bit better :D

    June 7, 2016
  12. Get well soon. And when you finish novels try BBC “Shetland” series with Douglas Henshall as Jimmi Perez. Great vistas of an isles.

    June 7, 2016

Leave a Reply

